Project 333 update and some thoughts on fashion

So I completely failed at Project 333 because a) I moved house half way through and it seemed more straightforward to unpack everything and b) I chose the wrong clothes. There were plenty of items in my original selection that I didn’t wear, but I also gave into the craving to wear things I had packed away and gradually started to pull things out again. I don’t feel too guilty about this because a) why should I? and b) I learnt some lessons about the types of things I want/need in a wardrobe.

I also failed in my attempt to not shop. I treated myself to a couple of investment pieces (winter coat and boots) that made me feel great. Again, I won’t feel guilty about this because life is a bit more complicated than buying stuff=bad not buying stuff=good. While fast fashion and mindless consumerism probably is bad, investing in your own style and self expression in a thoughtful and responsible way is necessary for a good life.

I recently read a wonderful story on the ReFashioner blog, which sums up my feelings exactly:

“I recently bought myself a present: a beautiful pair of washed lambskin Helmut Lang jeans that nearly cut my bank account in half. I’ll be honest, it was wildly irresponsible of me and I’m not advising anyone do the same. But I had just come out of a hard break-up, so I invested in myself and splurged on my now beloved “Freedom Pants.” I suffered no buyer’s remorse because when I close my eyes and envision myself at my happiest and most fulfilled—the person I want to be—well, I’m wearing those pants! 

That is how fashion can be powerful: As a form of self-expression, not as mindless consumerism.” Katie Patwell

Leave a Reply

