5 Things I’ve Learnt Whilst Creating a Capsule Wardrobe

Faced with moving abroad in a few months, and generally wanting to live a more focused less cluttered live, I’ve spent the past few weeks sorting through my wardrobe. My dream is a capsule wardrobe of a few good quality items that all work well with each other. It’s a work in progress, but thought I’d share some of the things I’ve learnt so far.

1. It’s important to know what your style is. Look at blogs, magazines, people on the street – work out what you like and what you don’t and learn to trust your gut. Create a scrapbook or pinterest board (here’s mine!) to help articulate your vision. It will make decluttering a lot easier if you already have a clear idea of your dream wardrobe.

2. Only keep only the things that make you feel amazing. If you catch sight of a reflection of yourself and don’t think you look great, the outfit you’re in has no place in your wardrobe. I’ve been “trialing” clothes I haven’t warn in ages. I wear them out and if I feel self-conscious, frumpy or uncomfortable they go straight into the “donate” pile when I get home.

3. I need to keep a range of colours. Some people might be able to wear just one colour for the rest of their lives: I can’t. Even though the laundry was easier, a few weeks of wearing just blue and black was depressing and I became desperate for a bit of colour.

4. Don’t sacrifice femininity in pursuit of simple. I tried wearing jeans and t-shirts without jewellery for a really minimal look. While this look might be great for some people, I just felt plain and unattractive. I learnt that it’s worth keeping some things that aren’t strictly necessary, but are necessary to feel great.

5. Accept who you are. I started to feel guilty about missing make-up and jewellery but I’ve come to realise that a love of sparkly things is part of my personality and I shouldn’t try to quash that. While it’s important to me that I have make-up free days, I shouldn’t feel bad for wanting to wear it most of the time. Unlike some minimalists, I won’t ever get beyond caring about clothes because I am a bit vain and my mood depends what I look like. It’s important to reconcile different aspects of your personality: I am outdoorsy and I am intellectual but I’m also into clothes and jewellery and fashion.

I’m still learning about this stuff, so please comment with your tips.

2 thoughts on “5 Things I’ve Learnt Whilst Creating a Capsule Wardrobe

  1. That’s awesome. Great tips. I love sparkly things too. They just make me happy when I look at them. I have a ring with a largish stone and I’m always staring at it when it catches the light and when I walk past chandeliers, my eye is just drawn to it. I love those things.

  2. My first attempt at an outfit post – Another Cuppa

Leave a Reply

