Fear and Stories

IMG_3379

Fear is simultaneously an appalling and amazing thing. Nobody should have to fear for their life or the life of their family, and far too many people in the world do.

But a little fear can be a good thing. Fear of failure might motivate you to study for an exam. Fear of being alone might help you take the risk and ask someone on a date, or lean in for that first kiss. Fear of mediocrity might make you try harder at your job, or leave to follow your passion.

Me? I fear not having a story to tell. My life has been a little up and down since I graduated (and had the freedom to “design my own life”). During those past four years I’ve had six different homes, lived in two different countries and worked in four different jobs – plus six months travelling/volunteering and a brief sideline as a life model. I’ve fallen in love, made some of the most amazing friends and travelled to some spectacular places. I’ve also had a few unwise friendships, too many drunken mishaps and spent too much money.

But I don’t regret anything. Because when I meet up with someone I haven’t seen in a little while, and they ask me how I am, I always have a good story to tell, and I enjoy telling it (usually for laughs).

My greatest fear is that when someone says ‘What have you been up to?’ I answer ‘Not much.’ When that happens, I know it’s time to move on.

One thought on “Fear and Stories

  1. On potential – Another Cuppa

Leave a Reply

