Always Learning

It’s okay to change your mind about…

  • That job you told everyone was your dream job, which you now want to leave to start your next adventure.
  • Those pair of shoes that you spent a fortune on but have never worn.
  • The political opinions you held when you were eighteen, or two years ago, or last week.
  • Somebody you may have initially misjudged.
  • Your house that you considered perfect but that now is too small, or too big.
  • Those habits that aren’t working anymore.
  • Your favourite food.
  • Your favourite colour.
  • Whether you prefer tea or coffee.

You should never be afraid to admit you were wrong. Changing your mind isn’t a sign of weakness, it’s a sign of being intelligent and adaptable enough to revise your decisions based on new information.

I struggle with this a lot, because I change what I think about things a lot, and also because I’m too stubborn to admit that I was wrong. But I’ve come to realise that most people won’t care as much as you do. They’ll probably be pleased that you’ve come around to their point to view, or they might not even notice as you change track.

The reason that I’m always changing my mind about things is that I’m always learning. Always reading about new ideas, thinking about different ways of doing things. Always learning is a good way to live and I need to stop the worry that everyone else must think I’m a messy¬†indecisive bundle of contradictions get in my way.

2 thoughts on “Always Learning

  1. I’m on Etsy – Another Cuppa

  2. Changing my mind about Facebook (again) | Kate Evans

Leave a Reply

