Jewellery Making: Time to Let Go of a Fantasy Self?

Yesterday evening I spent a happy few hours reading Tammy Strobel’s latest book, You can Buy Happiness (and It’s Cheap), and it got me thinking about my possessions. Although I’ve done a good job slowly ridding myself of unnecessary items over the last two years or so I still have a long way to go.

Miss Minimalist has written a really great post about hanging on to stuff that belongs to our fantasy selves. I suffer from this with a lot of my craft materials. For example, I wanted to be the girl who made amazing vintage style dresses from scratch, so I bought a sewing machine and stockpiled fabric but never got around to making anything. Not long ago I came to terms with the fact that I wasn’t that person, and sold my sewing machine. Without it’s presence making me feel guilty about not making clothes, I can get on with things I do actually enjoy.

In the past I made a lot of jewellery: for myself, my friends and sometimes to sell. Recently though, my priorities have changed. I’d rather spend my free time connecting with people, spending time outdoors and being active than hunched over squinting at tiny beads. My boxes of beads, threads, wire and safety pins have barely been opened in the last 12 months. They belong to my past self, but not my present.

However, once I get into it I do still enjoy the jewellery making process. So I’ve made a deal with myself: over the next six months or so I’m going to focus on making as much as I can and aim to use up my materials. Some of these I will give away at Christmas, and when I’m finished I’ll sell the rest on Etsy. Running at Etsy shop is something I’ve always quite wanted to do, but never had the commitment for. This way I’ll be selling my own creations just for a short time, and aim to use up as much as my hoarded supplies as I can. Win-win. Needless to say I won’t be replacing materials as I run out. This will be a short project: perfect for someone with an attention span as brief as mine.

Last night I kicked it off by starting a safety pin bracelet.

One thought on “Jewellery Making: Time to Let Go of a Fantasy Self?

  1. Excitement: habits to increase my energy levels « Another Cuppa.

Comments are closed.