Ipod Drama & The Week Without Music

I had this idea for another page of this blog, involving photographing people with their one possession they couldn’t live without. Thinking about what I would consider to be my most vital possession, I settled on my Ipod. Or rather, my entire music collection that it holds, the roughly 6000 songs that I’ve build up over the past five years of downloading, borrowing CDs from friends, and however else you manage to amass 6000 songs on your computer. I get very emotionally attached to certain albums and their associated memories. What would I do without access to and ability to play my music?

Well due to a combination of various interconnected events, including a misguided formatting and reinstallation of the operating system on my computer, a seeming incompatibility of Itunes 9 with old ipods, the mysterious error -53, and a window telling me to format and restore the ipod (bad idea) I now have more of an idea. The events of the past few days have left me with a completely unresponsive Ipod and a desire to throw the entire PC out of the window.

I have spent hours and hours that I will never get back reading internet forums in pursuit of advice, uninstalling and installing various different versions of Itunes and Quicktime, restoring the Ipod, putting the Ipod into “disk mode”, getting part way into syncing the ipod with what remains of the music library before it encounters an error and wipes the Ipod.

At this point I vaguely recollect some line from Fight Club about how your possessions end up owning you. But to be perfectly honest, the thought of spending any more time trawling through google search results makes me feel a little bit queasy so I won’t be looking it up to quote it properly. You get the idea.

I am reminded of something that somebody told me in India. Whilst spending a few days in Jaipur, my fellow travelling partners and I bought gemstone rings and had them made to fit our fingers. When I caught up with one of the girls in Goa a few months later she told me how both her rings had been stolen when a man climbed on top of the bus that she was travelling in and went through her bag. The rings had meant a lot to her but when she told me about the theft she looked upon it as a kind of reality check, suggesting that it served her right for becoming too attached to material possessions. I was bowled over by her healthy perspective.

I have a little way to go before I reach that point. There’s no doubt that I’m going to try and get the Ipod fixed, and I’ve already looked at prices for new ones in case it can’t be. In the mean time, I’ve downloaded and burnt to disk a few of the essential albums and dug my old CD player out of the top of my wardrobe. Retro.

But I suppose I have been made to question my perceived dependence on a little electronic item, and realise that the world doesn’t stop if I have to sit in silence or listen to the radio. This can only be a good thing. But it doesn’t stop it from being massively annoying.

Leave a Reply

